2018 Electoral Synod

An Electoral Synod will be held at St. James Cathedral on Saturday, June 9, 2018.

Nominations Committee

As required by The Constitution, diocesan Chancellor, Canon Clare Burns, has established a Nominations Committee.  Members of the Committee include:  Mr. Brian Armstrong (Ex-Officio), The Rev. Canon Joan Cavanaugh-Clark, Ms. Anita Gittens, Mr. Blake Goldring, Ms. Susan Graham Walker (Consultant), Mr. Stuart Hutcheson, the Rev. Canon Janet Read-Hockin, and the Rev. Mark Regis. 

Future Leadership of our Diocese

As the Nominations Committee begins to consider the process for this election, Anglicans are encouraged to consider four questions about the future leadership of our Diocese, proposed by Archbishop Colin Johnson at the end of our Regular Session of Synod in November 2017:

  1. What are two qualities you’ve most admired in a bishop?
  2. What are two critical issues affecting the life and mission of this Diocese?
  3. What are two characteristics a bishop should have to lead this Diocese in its mission over the next decade?
  4. What would you need in a process to figure out if a candidate had those characteristics?

You can email your thoughts on these questions to synod@toronto.anglican.ca. Your feedback will help shape the Nominations Committee’s conversations over the coming months.

More information will be posted as it becomes available.


For more information, please contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, (416) 363-6021 ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).

Almighty God, Giver of all good gifts, look on your church with grace,
and guide the minds of those who shall choose a Coadjutor Bishop for this Diocese,
that we may receive a faithful servant who will care for your people
and equip us for ministries, through Jesus Christ our Lord.   Amen.