Electoral Synod


Synod members in the Diocese of Toronto are called to assemble to elect a Coadjutor Bishop. The Rt. Rev. John H. Chapman, Bishop of Ottawa, will preside at the Synod.

A Coadjutor Bishop is elected by Synod to assist and ultimately succeed a Diocesan Bishop. A Coadjutor has the Right of Succession, i.e. when the Most Rev. Colin R. Johnson, Diocesan Bishop of Toronto, retires on December 31, 2018, the Coadjutor will assume the office of Diocesan Bishop on January 1, 2019 without the need for a further election by Synod.

St. James Cathedral
65 Church St., Toronto , ON