Doors Open Toronto

Youth, Children, Educational

Doors Open Toronto returns on Saturday, May 26 and Sunday, May 27, 2018, offering free and rare access to more than 130 architecturally, historically, culturally and socially significant buildings across the city. Several Anglican sites are participating this year.

Trinity East (Little Trinity) and Campus

Little TrinityExperience three sites with one stop: Little Trinity Church, Toronto’s oldest church building; Little Trinity House, a mid-19th century rectory featuring Victorian tea (Saturday), and Little Trinity Annex, a mid-19th century townhouse and recent Heritage Toronto Award recipient. Explore early Toronto history through site connections to Bishop John Strachan, Enoch Turner, William Gooderham (Gooderham and Worts Distillery), and Thornton and Lucie Blackburn, and learn more about life in Toronto in the mid-1800s.

Saturday: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm
Sunday: 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm

St. James Cathedral

St. James Cathedral

This site has been a Toronto landmark for over 150 years, known for its Gothic Revival architecture, towering spire, and the distinctive ring of its bells. Built of local brick and Ohio sandstone, the Cathedral opened for services in 1853 after a fire had destroyed the previous cathedral. The sweeping pipe organ is comprised of over 5,000 pipes. Ten of the change-ringing bells were cast in 1828 and made from canons salvaged from the Battle of Waterloo with funds voted by the British Parliament. The ceiling above the altar is adorned with gold acanthus leaves created by muralist Gustav Hahn. The banner of the Trinity hanging in the Baptistery was designed and stitched by Toronto artist Doris McCarthy.

Saturday: 10:00 am – 4:30 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm
Sunday: 12:30 pm – 4:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm

St. John’s Convent

St. John's ConventSt. John’s Convent is an award-winning design by Montgomery-Sisam Architects and a contemporary expression of monasticism for the Sisterhood of St. John the Divine. It includes a guest house, chapel, refectory, library, courtyards and gardens and provides lots of light and space, bringing the outdoors in. The convent is an oasis of peace, beauty, and hospitality in the midst of a noisy city. Visitors will have a 30-minute tour of the public areas of the convent. Sisters leading the tours will describe the various features of each area and answer questions on the work and ministries of the convent. When the tour is done, guests may walk the gardens or on a full-sized, outdoor labyrinth laid out with stones. An brief musical recital will happen each afternoon.

Saturday: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:00 pm

The Chapel of St. Alban in Royal Saint George’s College

St. Alban's ChapelA stunning piece of Victorian Ecclesiastical architecture hidden in the Annex, this chapel features a stunning double-hammerbeam ceiling and some of the best heraldic stained glass in the country. Visitors can wander through the chapel where the treasures and memorials of the former Anglican Parish of St. Alban’s are preserved. Far from being a museum, St. Alban’s is now the spiritual home to Royal Saint George’s College, a private boy’s school specializing in choral and instrumental music.

Saturday: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:30 pm
Sunday: 10:00 am – 5:00 pm, Last Admittance: 4:30 pm