MINUTES OF THE EPISCOPAL SYNOD CALLED FOR THE ELECTION OF A SUFFRAGAN BISHOP FOR THE DIOECESE OF TORONTO Saturday, April 6, 2013

Pursuant to the Notice of meeting, dated November 26, 2012, the Bishop of Toronto called the members of Synod to a Special Synod for the sole purpose of electing a Suffragan Bishop for the Diocese of Toronto.

OPENING OF SYNOD

Synod opened with a service of Holy Communion, commencing at 9:30 a.m. in the Cathedral Church of St. James.

BUSINESS SESSION

Archbishop Johnson welcomed members of Synod to this special session and called the meeting to order at 10:30 am.

HONORARY SECRETARIES

The Honorary Secretaries for this session of Synod were elected at the November 2011 session of Synod:

The Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham
 Mr. Chris Ambidge
 Honorary Clerical Secretary
 Honorary Lay Secretary

o The Rev. Claire Wade Assistant Honorary Clerical Secretary

SCRUTINEERS

The scrutineers for this special session of Synod were elected at the February 14, 2013 meeting of Diocesan Council.

- o The Rev. Julie Meakin
- o Canon Paul Baston

NOMINEES

Archbishop Johnson introduced those clerics nominated for the position of Suffragan Bishop in the Diocese of Toronto.

- o The Rev. Canon Andrew Asbil
- o The Rev. Canon Allan Budzin
- o The Ven. Peter Fenty
- o The Ven. Gordon Finney
- o The Rev. Canon Dr. Isaac Kawuki-Mukasa
- o The Rev. Mark Kinghan
- o The Rev. Warren Leibovitch
- o The Rev. Canon Stephen Peake
- o The Rev. Canon Jennifer Reid
- o The Rev. Nicola Skinner
- o Major The Rev. David Warren

The Archbishop commended and thanked these candidates for their self-offering of their many gifts.

THE EPISCOPAL ELECTION

Chancellor Falby reviewed the eligibility for Synod membership and outlined the rules for further nominations according to *The Constitution*.

The Archbishop declared Registration closed.

The Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham made some general housekeeping announcements including the procedures for voting. She announced the numbers from registration.

It was reported that:	CLERGY	LAITY
Total eligible members	412	428
Number to be present and voting (50%) in order for a majority, of the votes cast in each house.		
Present and registered Votes required to be elected	299 151	344 173
1		

THE RESULTS

	1st Ballot		2 nd Ballot		3 rd Ballot		4th Ballot	
	C	L	C	L	С	L	C	L
·								
The Rev. Canon Andrew Asbil	35	51	63	65	87	92	123	132
The Rev. Canon Allan Budzin	23	18	14	11	-	-	-	-
The Ven. Peter Fenty	47	60	62	69	77	87	100	113
The Ven. Gordon Finney	35	35	38	41	34	36	-	-
The Rev. Canon Isaac Kawuki-Mukasa	17	21	13	13	7	10	-	-
The Rev. Mark Kinghan	17	10	10	8	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Warren Leibovitch	13	31	8	30	6	23	-	-
The Rev. Canon Stephen Peake	47	41	51	52	56	64	65	90
The Rev. Canon Jennifer Reid	17	19	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Nicola Skinner	31	34	28	33	27	22	-	-
Major The Rev. David Warren	14	22	8	13	-	-	-	=
								_
Total Present and Voting	296	342	295	335	294	334	288	335
Needed to Elect	151	173	148	163	148	163	145	169

The Rev. Canon Jennifer Reid withdrew her name after the first ballot. The Rev. Canon Allan Budzin, the Rev. Mark Kinghan and Major the Rev. David Warren withdrew their names after the second ballot. The Ven. Gordon Finney, the Rev. Canon Isaac Kawuki-Mukasa, the Rev. Warren Liebovitch and the Rev. Nicola Skinner withdrew their names after the third ballot. The Rev. Canon Stephen Peake withdrew his name after the fourth ballot.

THE RESULTS (continued)

	5 th Ballot		6 th Ballot		7 th Ba	allot
	C	L	С	L	С	L
The Rev. Canon Andrew Asbil	131	194	124	174	113	163
The Rev. Canon Allan Budzin	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Ven. Peter Fenty	157	136	161	151	171	164
The Ven. Gordon Finney	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Canon Isaac Kawuki-Mukasa	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Mark Kinghan	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Warren Leibovitch	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Canon Stephen Peake	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Canon Jennifer Reid	-	-	-	-	-	-
The Rev. Nicola Skinner	-	-	-	-	-	-
Major The Rev. David Warren	-	-	-	-	-	-
		•				
Total Present and Voting	288	330	285	325	284	327
Needed to Elect	145	166	143	164	143	164

Archbishop Johnson called Bishop-Elect Peter Fenty to the chancel steps and introduced him to the members of Synod. Bishops, retired bishops and candidates came forward to give congratulations.

On a motion from the floor his election was unanimously approved MOVED by the Rev. Canon Andrew Asbil and SECONDED by the Rev. Canon Stephen Peake.

Bishop-Elect Fenty led the Synod in the Lord's Prayer, and thanked the Synod for their humbling affirmation. He spoke of this Church, God's beloved children. He looks forward to working with the College of Bishops in a new capacity. He thanked his colleagues on the ballot for their prayerful and faithful collegiality. He affirmed their many and varied ministries. The Church is well-served by the clergy and laity of this Diocese who are witnessing to the power of the Risen Christ. In this Easter Season, we say "To God be the Glory – Great things He has done."

The other candidates gathered at the Chancel Steps.

The Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham and Mr. Chris Ambidge expressed appreciation to the staff, scrutineers and other volunteers for their work today.

It was MOVED by the Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham and SECONDED by Mr. Chris Ambidge that the ballots be destroyed.

Bishop George Elliott sang the benediction.

Adjournment was MOVED by the Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham.

Synod ended at 2:15 p.m.