Trent-Durham Area Council


The Trent Durham Area Council supports the mission and ministry of the Area Bishop, the parishes and other community service agencies in this Episcopal Area. The Council initiates and implements programs for Christian education and mission, such as an annual Area Day of celebration, a clergy retreat and a luncheon for retired clergy, their spouses and widows. It responds to requests from parishes for counsel and financial support.

The Area Council meets four times per year: March, June, September and December. The Council meets in a different parish of the Area each time.


The Area Council consists of the following members:

  • Area Bishop
  • Regional Deans
  • Clergy Representatives
  • Lay Representatives (2 or 3 per Deanery)
  • Youth Social Justice Coordinator

Current Membership

Lay Members:

  • Doug Willoughby – Oshawa Deanery
  • Bill Moore-Ede – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • Sharon O’Connor – Durham-Northumberland Deanery

Regional Deans:

  • The Rev. Canon Claire Wade – Oshawa Deanery
  • The Rev. Canon Ted McCollum – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery
  • The Rev. Jesse Parker– Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • The Rev. Gloria Master – Peterborough Deanery


  • The Rev. Keith Joyce – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • The Rev. Warren Leibovitch – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery
  • The Rev. Joan Cavanaugh-Clark – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery
  • The Rev. Frank Tyrrell – Peterborough Deanery
  • The Rev. Barbara Russell – Durham-Northumberland Deanery