Skip To Content

Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council meets on a regular basis to carry on the work of Synod between its sessions. This group of about 40 people is responsible to Synod for:

  • developing and overseeing priorities to implement the Diocese’s vision and mission
  • budget development, recommendation, oversight and midterm adjustment, if needed

Once priorities have been approved by Synod, Diocesan Council acts at a strategic level to assign those priorities to boards and committees. Council oversees them and monitors their work through a regular reporting framework.

Learn more about:

Upcoming meeting dates

The following meetings have been tentatively booked:

  • September 23, 2021
  • October 28, 2021
  • November 18, 2021
  • December 16, 2021

Documentation must be received at least two weeks before the meeting dates so it can be distributed to council members.

For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 416-363-6021, ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).


The main purpose of Diocesan Council is “planning and managing.” It acts on behalf of Synod between meetings of Synod. It’s accountable to Synod for:

  • planning and establishing budgets to carry out the priorities of Synod
  • establishing and implementing effective policies
  • its actions between the sessions of the Synod

Diocesan Council isn’t allowed to approve items of a legislative nature. For example, it can’t approve a change to:

  • the constitution of the Diocese
  • the meeting frequency or content of Synod meetings
  • those things spelled out in the constitution

Council is empowered to:

  • implement the plans Synod has approved
  • create policy for supporting the operations of Synod
  • do its work through boards and committees that it creates

The boards and committees of Diocesan Council are: Executive Board, Audit Committee, FaithWorks Allocations Committee, Nominating Committee, Our Faith-Our Hope Allocations Committee and Trusts Committee.

Size and membership

The membership of Diocesan Council is set out in Canon 2. Members include:

  • the Bishop
  • the Suffragan Bishops
  • the Chancellor
  • the Registrar
  • the Dean of Toronto
  • the President of the Diocesan Anglican Church Women
  • the Honorary Secretaries
  • One clerical and two lay members from each episcopal area, elected by the members of that area at or before the date of Synod
  • up to 15 members appointed by the bishop in consultation with the area bishops
  • one member from each area council

See the current members of Diocesan Council.

Committees of Diocesan Council

Diocesan Council carries out some of its work and responsibilities through standing committees it has created. Standing committees of Diocesan Council include:

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee consists of the chair and at least two other members, elected annually by Diocesan Council.

Its duties are to:

  • recommend to Synod the appointment of auditors and their remuneration
  • review the annual audited financial statements of Synod with the auditor before making recommendations to Diocesan Council
  • review changes in accounting principles and practices being followed
  • review with the auditor and management any significant recommendations made by the auditor
  • report to Diocesan Council after each meeting
  • undertake other tasks as may either be requested by Diocesan Council or be appropriate for the Audit Committee, as outlined in professional guidelines, from time to time

For more information, contact Robert Saffrey, Executive  Director, at 416-363-6021, ext. 251 (1-800-668-8932).

FaithWorks Allocations Committee

Community ministry grants are made available each year through FaithWorks, the annual appeal of the Diocese, in accordance with the application procedures.

The FaithWorks Allocations Committee reports to Diocesan Council on an annual basis on allocations to partners and ministries. Allocations decisions made by the committee aren’t final until they receive Council approval.

For more information, contact Melissa Doidge at 416-363-6021, ext. 243 (1-800-668-8932).

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee consists of eight members, four clerical and four lay. Its purpose is to receive nominations for all standing committees and boards (both of Synod and of Diocesan Council) from those committees and from members of Synod.

The committee also prepares ballots for the election process that takes place at Regular Sessions of Synod. You can find more information in the Constitution, section 21.

For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 416-363-6021, ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).

Trusts Committee

The Trusts Committee is a standing committee of the Diocesan Council. Its duties are to:

  • consider and report on devises, bequests, gifts or grants for church purposes to be held by the Synod in trust
  • consider and report on applications to buy, sell, license, lease or mortgage church property or to incur any financial obligation not expected to be liquidated within one year
  • consider and report on plans and applications for the building of or structural alterations to church property
  • consider and report on any other matters referred to it by Diocesan Council

For more information, visit the Trusts Committee page or contact Wendy Pearson, Property Resources Specialist, at 416-363-6021, ext. 245 (1-800-668-8932).


Pamela Boisvert

Secretary of Synod
416-363-6021 (1-800-668-8932) ext. 231