



#### **Synod Elections**

On November 18, 2023 Synod elected the following members to Synod Council, Provincial Synod and General Synod:

## Synod Council

Synod Council generally exercises the executive powers of Synod between sessions except those of a legislative character. The 25-member governance body meets monthly to carry on the work of Synod. Elected members hold office from the conclusion of the meeting of Synod in which they were elected until the conclusion of the next Regular Session of Synod, usually a three-year term. Synod elected the following:

- The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephen Fields (St. James Cathedral)
- The Rev. Lucia Lloyd (St. John, Bowmanville)
- The Rev. Graham McCaffrey (St. Dunstan of Canterbury)
- The Rev. Mark Regis (St. Mary & St. Martha, Toronto)
- The Rev. Philip Stonhouse (St. Matthew, Islington)
- Lawrence Barker (St. Luke, Burnt River)
- Heather McGregor, ODT (St. Mary Magdalene)
- David Toycen, ODT (Trinity Church, Streetsville)
- Canon Laura Walton, ODT (Holy Trinity, Clearview)
- Eirene Wee (St. Paul, Bloor Street)
- Adam Nymann (St. John the Evangelist, Peterborough), youth member

### **General Synod**

General Synod meets every three years, and the term of office for a member is three years. The term of office begins at the General Synod in 2025 and continues until the next General Synod. The Diocese of Huron will host the next General Synod in London, Ont. The following were elected:

- The Rev. Canon Philip Der (St. Christopher)
- The Rev. Yohan Dumpala (St. John the Baptist, Norway)
- The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephen Fields (St. James Cathedral)
- The Rev. Lucia Lloyd (St. John, Bowmanville)
- The Rev. Canon Nicola Skinner (Grace Church, Markham)
- The Rev. Brian Suggs (All Saints, Kingsway)
- The Rev. Canon Claudette Taylor (Epiphany and St. Mark, Parkdale)
- Chancellor Marg Creal, KC, (Church of the Redeemer, Bloor Street)
- Finn Keesmaat-Walsh (Redeemer, Bloor Street)
- Yvonne Murray, ODT (Holy Wisdom)
- Noah Skinner (Grace Church, Markham)
- David Toycen, ODT (Trinity Church, Streetsville)

- Mary Walsh, ODT (St. John the Baptist, Oak Ridges)
- Canon Laura Walton, ODT (Holy Trinity, Clearview)
- Logan Liut (St. Thomas, Huron Street), youth member *Substitutes*
- The Rev. Dr. Alvardo Adderley (Parish of Fenelon Falls)
- The Rev. Philip Stonhouse (St. Matthew, Islington)
- The Rev. Andrew Kaye (St. Margaret in-the-Pines)
- The Rev. Lorna May (St. Luke, Creemore)
- Sandy Richmond, ODT (St. George, Allandale)
- Ryan Ransden, ODT (Grace Church in Scarborough)
- Lawrence Barker (St. Luke, Burnt River)
- Ann Arnold (St. Peter, Oshawa)
- Onis Hawley (Grace Church, Markham)

#### **Provincial Synod**

The next Session of the Provincial Synod will take place in Sault Ste. Marie, Ont., hosted by the Diocese of Algoma during the week of Sept. 24, 2024 (exact dates not confirmed). The Provincial Synod meets every three years and the term of office is for three years beginning at Provincial Synod 2024. The Provincial Synod meets and considers matters of interest in the provincial sphere such as theological education, social issues, government relations, chaplaincies, and vocational diaconate ministries. The following were elected:

- The Rev. Canon Kit Greaves (Christ Memorial, Oshawa)
- The Rev. Dr. Alison Kemper (St. Matthias, Bellwoods)
- The Rev. Brian Suggs (All Saints, Kingsway)
- The Rev. Graham McCaffrey (St. Dunstan of Canterbury)
- Canon Laura Walton, ODT (Holy Trinity, Clearview)
- Karen Beckles (Epiphany and St. Mark, Parkdale)
- Ryan Ramsden, ODT (Grace Church, Scarborough)
- Susan Schuschu, ODT (St. John, East Orangeville)
- Noah Skinner, Grace Church, Markham (youth member)

# Substitutes

- Finn Keesmaat-Walsh (Church of the Redeemer, Bloor Street
- Lawrence Barker (St. Luke, Burnt River)