CANON 5 TRUSTS COMMITTEE

1. There shall be a standing committee of the Diocesan Council to be known as the Trusts Committee, hereinafter called the "Committee".

2. Members

The membership of the Committee shall consist of:

- (i) The Chancellor
- (ii) The Vice-Chancellors
- (iii) The Registrar
- (iv) Six (6) members, three from each order. All Lay Members must be members of a Vestry as prescribed by Canon 14(4), or a member of a church in full communion with the Anglican Church of Canada, and at least half of the members must be Members of a Session of Synod.

Members shall hold office for not more than a maximum of three successive two-year terms, following which no such appointment may be made for one two-year term.

3. <u>Duties and Responsibilities</u>

The duties of the Committee shall be:

- (a) To consider and report on devises, bequests, gifts or grants for church purposes to be held by the Synod in trust;
- (b) To consider and report on applications to purchase, sell, license, lease or mortgage church property or to incur any financial obligation not expected to be liquidated within one year;
- (c) To consider and report on plans and applications for the building of or structural alterations to church property;
- (d) To consider and report on any other matters referred to it by the Diocesan Council.
- 4. At any time that may be authorized by the Diocesan Council, the Committee shall have power to act on behalf of the Diocesan Council in any of the matters referred to in subsections (a), (b), and (c) of Section 3 of this Canon.