Skip To Content

去教堂

你有否考慮參觀一所聖公會教堂呢?可能你曾路過區內的教堂而好奇內裏的運作。可能你也曾被朋友邀請參與她的教會,或也曾出席過婚禮和洗禮,又或者感到現在是時候走進去看個究竟了。

無論甚麼驅使你作出這個決定,我們都極之歡迎你到我們任何一所教堂去看看。若你從未曾進過教堂,或者是很久以前的事了,對眼前看到的和耳朵聽見的可能感到陌生,這簡單的指引是你的幫助。

是否任何人都可以進入教堂的呢?

當然可以!走進一所從未到過的教堂未免令人感到有些壓力。但是你不用考慮對教義接受有幾許,或對真理的認識知多少,或生活模式是否合乎要求,因為不論你的信仰歷程深或淺,我們都隨時歡迎你前來。

以一般教會而言,星期日早上的崇拜是會眾齊集守禮拜的時候。在週中,大多數教會都會提供不同的服務,學習課程,活動和其他外展事項。你不需守禮拜才可參加以上的活動。

若你想認識某所教會多些,可上網或致電去查詢。多數教會都以網址平台去發報新近的信息、相片和錄像片。你亦可瀏覽教區的events calendar去搜尋我們的活動。

齊來崇拜

基督徒深信參與主日崇拜是基要的信仰表徵。這是信徒們齊集一起來敬拜上帝、聽經課和禱告的聚會。多數教會都舉行聖餐崇拜,即是祝聖餅和酒的禮儀。會眾同領聖體和寶血,同享與主合一的愛筵。

有些教會在主日或週中亦有舉行多元化的崇拜活動。

出席前的準備

最簡單快捷的方法是先上網查閱,或致電教堂辦事處查詢活動資料。亦可登入Find a Church去找出多倫多教區內所有屬會的網址和聯絡電話。

衣飾方面是沒有「衣著標準」規範的。有些會眾選擇穿得合乎傳統端莊些,亦有會眾穿得較為隨意些,總括而言舒適整齊便可。

我們歡迎孩童們到來。多數教會給年齡不同的孩童,提供適合的活動在崇拜時段參與。你亦可帶同孩童在身旁,與你一起參與崇拜。我們所有的教會都著意為孩子們提供一個安全的活動環境。

當到達時

你可能選擇崇拜未開始前數分鐘到達。教堂內的座位是沒有編排預設的,只要找一個感到舒適的位置,安坐其中便可。有些教堂座位是成排的長椅,亦有些是用椅子。

教堂會派發崇拜程序等資料,幫助你參與同敬拜。有些用單張,亦有詩歌集和禱文冊。有些則把所有資料投放到熒幕上。

你盡可向招待員或身旁的會眾查問崇拜程序,和該如何去參與。

崇拜中

大多數的崇拜都包含讀經、祈禱和講道。有些崇拜以音樂敬拜,包括會眾同唱聖詩。但清早主日的或週中的崇拜,未必有唱詩的環節。

你可能猶疑何時要跪、坐或立,又何時回應「阿們」。請鬆緩下來,跟隨會眾的做法便好了。你可能也看到有些會眾不時低頭和劃十字聖號,這些都是個別人士敬拜的形式。

你只需根據適合自己的方式去選擇參與崇拜的禮儀。重點是讓自己熏陶在聖樂中,聖經的話語裏,和靜默的時段內。亦可循教堂增強敬拜氣氛的擺設:十字架、聖壇、聖燭、彩色玻璃窗的聖畫等,引導自己深思背後的信息和意義。

平安禮

在大多數的教會裏,崇拜的其中一個環節是平安禮。坐在你鄰近的會眾會與你握手,輕輕躬身或抱拳致意,祝願你「主內平安!」。你盡可用切合你感到舒適的方式回應便可。

奉獻禮

在多數的主日崇拜裏,有奉獻的收集。捐獻到的金錢會用作支持教會事工和有需要的人。你會看到會眾傳遞一個袋或盆作收集獻金用。好些教會備有捐封在長椅座位處給嘉賓使用。你亦可把錢幣直接放入奉獻袋或盆內。歡迎你奉獻,但切勿勉強。

聖餐禮

大多數的早上崇拜都設聖餐禮。所有已受洗的基督徒都被邀請前來領受祝聖了的餅和酒。在這聖筵裏,我們靈裏得力,獲滋養,壯膽地奉耶穌的名去愛和侍奉世上的人。

在教會派發給你的單張上,可能已寫上了領聖餐的次序。通常是司事(招待員)提示你何時該走到聖壇前領受聖餐,但較簡單的做法是跟隨前面的會眾上前去便是了。

不論你是已受洗或否,我們也歡迎你上前來接受祝福。若你心想牧師給你祝福,只要把雙手交叉放在胸前,示意給向你走過來的牧師便可。

你亦可在會眾領聖餐的時段裏,選擇留在座位上。這純屬是你個人的意願。

崇拜後

大多數教會在主日崇拜後都設有茶點招待,這個稱為「茶點時間」是相聚問安,和交誼的良機。歡迎你留下參與聯誼,互相認識,但絕對任由尊便。你也可隨意向牧師或信眾介紹自己,或向他們查詢你的疑問。臨離開前別忘記取些有關未來活動和服務的單張。但至為重要的,是你要再回來。我們極欣喜再見到你!

Skip To Content

Going to church

Are you thinking about visiting an Anglican church? Maybe you’ve passed a local church and wondered what goes on inside. Maybe a friend has invited you to come to her church, you’re attending a wedding or baptism, or you simply feel called to step inside.

Whatever the reason, you’re very welcome at any of our churches. If you’ve never been to church or if it’s been a while, some of the sights and sounds may be unfamiliar to you. This brief guide might help.

Can anyone go to church?

Yes, absolutely! It can be intimidating to walk in the doors of a church, especially if it’s new to you. You don’t have to believe the right things, have all (or any) of the answers, or live a certain kind of life. Wherever you are on your faith journey, you’re always invited.

In most churches, our main opportunity to gather together is the Sunday morning worship service. Many churches also have different services, educational opportunities, activities and events during the week. You don’t have to go to church on Sunday morning to attend these other activities.

If you want to learn more about a church, you can visit its website or call its office to find out what you can expect. Many churches post updates, photos and videos from their own social media profiles. You can also check out our events calendar to see what’s happening around the Diocese!

Worshipping together

We believe that the central thing we do as Christians is gather together for worship, often on Sunday morning. This is the time when members of the congregation come together to praise God, hear scripture and pray as a community. In most churches, this is a Communion service, sometimes called the Eucharist or the Mass. That means we receive the bread and wine of Holy Communion.

Some congregations also have different kinds of worship services on Sundays and during the week.

Before you come

The easiest way to find out what’s happening at a church is to visit its website or call the church office. For websites and phone numbers of churches in the Diocese of Toronto, visit Find a Church.

There’s no “dress code” for church. Some people dress informally, and others more formally. Wear what feels comfortable to you.

All kids are welcome. Many churches have programs for kids of different ages during the worship service, or you can keep your kids with you. All congregations make sure church is a safe environment for kids.

When you arrive

You may want to arrive a few minutes before the service starts. You can sit wherever you feel the most comfortable. Each worship space looks a bit different – some have benches or pews, and some have chairs.

There will be materials to help you follow the service and participate. In some churches this may be a paper leaflet and books with hymns and prayers. In other churches the information you need may be projected on a screen.

Feel free to ask a greeter or someone near you for help in following the service and how to join in.

During the service

Most services are a mix of readings, prayers and a sermon. Some services have music, including hymns or songs sung by the congregation. Other services (particularly early on Sunday mornings and during the week) have no music.

You might be wondering when you should do what: kneel, sit, stand, say “Amen.” Just relax and follow what others are doing. You may see people bowing or making the sign of the cross at certain times, but this is a personal choice.

You can join in as much or as little as you’re comfortable with. Take in the music, the words of the Bible and the silences. Contemplate the symbols and images – the cross, the altar, the candles, the stained glass windows – that may enhance the worship space.

The Peace

In most churches, at one part of the service called the Peace, people near you may greet you with a handshake or a bow and the words, “the Peace of Christ” or “Peace be with you.” Feel free to participate in a way that feels comfortable or appropriate to you.

Collection

During most Sunday morning services, there will be a collection of money to support the congregation and the needs of others. You’ll see people passing a basket or plate. You’re welcome to contribute, but don’t feel obligated. Many churches have envelopes for visitors in the pew, or you can put an offering straight into the plate.

Communion

Most Sunday morning services include Communion. All baptized Christians are invited to receive the consecrated bread and wine. In this meal, we’re energized, nourished and strengthened to love and serve the world in Jesus’ name.

There may be some instructions in your leaflet about how Communion happens in that particular church. Often, a sidesperson (greeter) will indicate when it’s your turn to go forward, or you can simply follow the people in front of you.

You’re welcome to come forward for a blessing, whether or not you’re baptized. If you want the priest to bless you, cross your arms over your chest when they approach you.

You can also choose to stay in your seat during this part of the service – it’s up to you!

After the service

Most churches have a time for refreshments and conversation after the Sunday service – often called “coffee hour.” You’re welcome to join in and mingle, but don’t feel obligated to stay. Feel free to introduce yourself to the priest and members of the community, and to ask questions. Pick up flyers about upcoming events and services. And most importantly, come back! We’d love to see you.