Skip To Content

Committee Members

The following is a list of members of Synod Council and its committees . For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 416-363-6021, ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).

Synod Council

The membership of Synod Council is as follows:

Office Holders:

  • The Rt. Rev. Andrew Asbil, Bishop of Toronto (Chair)
  • The Rt. Rev. Riscylla Shaw (Suffragan Bishop)
  • The Rt. Rev. Kevin Robertson (Suffragan Bishop)
  • Canon Clare Burns (Chancellor)
  • The Rev. Andrew MacDonald (Honorary Clerical Secretary)
  • Sheila Robson (Honorary Lay Secretary)
  • Canon Robert Saffrey (Executive Director) non-voting

Committee Chairs:

  • Chancellor Clare Burns (Risk and Governance Committee) also listed above
  • Delores Lawrence, ODT (Human Resources Committee)
  • George Lewis, ODT (Finance Committee)
  • Stuart Hutcheson, ODT, and Peter Patterson, ODT, (Property Committee)

Bishop’s Appointments:

  • The Rev. Kenute Francis
  • The Rev. Lucia Lloyd
  • Major the Rev. Canon Brad Smith
  • Finn Keesmaat-Walsh
  • The Rev. Kevin Wong

Elected at Synod:

  • Chris Ambidge, ODT
  • The Rev. Canon Simon Bell
  • The Rev. Canon Dr. Stephen Fields
  • The Rev. Canon Sister Constance Joanna Gefvert, SSJD
  • The Rev. Maria Ling
  • Heather McGregor, ODT
  • The Rev. Jesse Parker
  • David Toycen, ODT
  • Laura Walton, ODT
  • Eirene Khean Cheng Wee

Committees of Synod Council

Audit Committee

  • Don Gillespie, CA (Chair)
  • R. Paul Singleton, FCA
  • Anne Todd, CMA
  • Susan Tremayne-Moon, CPA CA
  • Staff:  Patricia D’Souza, Controller

Finance Committee

  • George Lewis, ODT (Chair)
  • Mario Bartolozzi
  • The Rev. Molly Finlay
  • Leslie Hajdu, ODT
  • Vice-Chancellor Mark Hemingway
  • The Rev. Leonard Leader
  • Staff:  Patricia D’Souza, Controller

Property Committee

  • Stuart Hutcheson, ODT (Co-Chair)
  • Peter Patterson, ODT (Co-Chair)
  • Michael Davies, LLP
  • Laura Johnston
  • The Rev. Mark Regis
  • Peter Tovell, ODT
  • Vice-Chancellor John van Gent
  • Staff:  Wendy Pearson (Property Resources Coordinator) and Canon Robert Saffrey (Executive Director)

Human Resources Committee

  • Delores Lawrence, ODT (Chair)
  • Vice-Chancellor Marg Creal
  • Heather McGregor, ODT
  • The Rev. Michael Perry
  • Orphtee Quarco
  • David Town
  • Staff:  Deborah Journeaux (Director of Human Resources)

Risk and Governance Committee

  • Chancellor Clare Burns (Chair)
  • Vice-Chancellor Brian Armstrong, ODT
  • Vice-Chancellor Paul Baston
  • The Rev. Canon Joan Cavanaugh-Clark
  • The Rev. Canon Dr. Byron Gilmore
  • Vice-Chancellor Mark Hemingway
  • Wayne McLeod
  • John Nicholl
  • The Rev. Canon Cheryl Palmer
  • Vice-Chancellor Gail Smith
  • Staff:  Pamela Boisvert (Secretary of Synod) and Wendy Pearson (Property Resources Coordinator

Other bodies

Synod is responsible for appointing various bodies. They include:

York Rectory Commissioners and Committee on Etobicoke Glebe

The following Commissioners were appointed by Synod for the distribution of the First York Rectory Fund and the Etobicoke Glebe for 2022:

  • Chancellor Clare Burns (Chair)
  • Joy Packham, ODT
  • The Rev. Shelly Pollard

Advisory Commission on Termination of Clerical Appointment

The following people were elected by Synod for 2022:

  • Vice-Chancellor Brian Armstrong, QC, ODT (Chair)
  • The Rev. Canon Joan Cavanaugh-Clark
  • Kennedy Marshall, ODT