York-Credit Valley

Bishop Philip Poole is the area bishop for the York-Credit Valley Episcopal Area, which is the southwestern part of the Diocese of Toronto.

Bishop Poole was consecrated bishop in 2005 and serves as Bishop Suffragan in the Diocese of Toronto and Area Bishop of York-Credit Valley. On March 3, 2016 he announced his intention to retire, effective September 30, 2016. Find the Bishop’s letters announcing his retirement to the York-Credit Valley clergy and to the people and parishes of York-Credit Valley here.

The York-Credit Valley Episcopal Area

The York-Credit Valley episcopal area consists of 50 parishes (including 2 Canon 29 Designated Ministries and a neo-monastic community), organized under four deaneries,  as well as nine cemeteries and two schools. The oldest parish is St. Peter, Erindale, dating back to 1825, and the newest congregation is St. Mary and St. Martha, formed of the amalgamated churches of the Advent; Good Shepherd, Mount Dennis; St. John, Weston; and St. David, Lawrence Avenue, in 2015.

In addition to English, services in this diverse and multicultural area are held in Cantonese, Mandarin, Punjabi, Malayalam, Spanish, Italian, and Portuguese. There are also Sudanese, Kenyan, Igbo, and Ghanaian congregations.

Contact Details:

Bishop Poole’s Office Address:
Diocesan Centre
135 Adelaide St. E.
Toronto, ON M5C 1L8
Phone: 416-363-6021 ext. 223 (1-800-668-8932)
Fax: 416-363-7678

Bishop’s Email: ppoole@toronto.anglican.ca

Bishop’s Office Hours:

  • Monday: day off
  • Tuesday–Thursday: office time & area meetings
  • Friday: working from home
  • Sunday: parish visits

Interim Administrative Assistant: Pamela Dwerryhouse
Phone: 416-363-6021 ext. 223
Email: pdwerryhouse@toronto.anglican.ca
Office hours: Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday: 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m.

Liturgical Consultant: the Rev. Canon Philip Hobson OGS,
Phone: 416-767-7491
E-mail: phobson@stmartininthefields.ca
Assistant Liturgical Consultants:
The Rev. Michelle Childs-Ward
The Rev. Paul J. Walker

Chaplain to Retired Clergy: the Rev. Canon David Luxton
(please contact via the Bishop’s Office)

Youth Ministry Coordinator: Rosemary MacAdam
Phone: 416-259-6755
E-mail: ycv.area.coordinator@gmail.com
Youth Ministry Page

Parish Outreach Facilitator: Elin Goulden
Phone: 416-762-2485 or 647-206-2485 (cell)
e-mail at e.goulden@sympatico.ca 
Read more about Elin