Skip To Content

Diocesan Bishop

Bishop Andrew Asbil is our diocesan bishop. He is the chief pastor of the Diocese, with pastoral oversight of 202 parishes.

Bishop Asbil was elected coadjutor bishop on June 9, 2018 and consecrated on Sept. 29, 2018. He automatically became the diocesan bishop on Jan. 1, 2019 and was installed on Jan. 13.

Born in 1961, Bishop Asbil was educated at the University of Waterloo and received his Master of Divinity degree from Huron College in 1988. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1989 and served a number of parishes in the Diocese of Niagara before coming to Toronto in 2001.

In Toronto, he served as incumbent of Redeemer, Bloor St. and was appointed Canon of the Diocese of Toronto in 2009. He served as the dean of Toronto and rector of St. James Cathedral from January 2016 to September 2018.

The Very Reverend Andrew Asbil, Coadjutor Bishop-elect

Bishop’s Office

Canon Mary Conliffe is the Diocesan Executive Assistant. She’s available for information about diocesan events, clergy matters, Bishop’s Committees (including the Postulancy Committee) and the Fresh Start and Momentum programs.

Jennifer Bolender King is the Bishop’s Office Assistant. You can contact her for scheduling appointments, meetings and parish visits with Bishop Asbil.

Diocesan Bishop’s Office:

135 Adelaide St. E., Toronto M5C 1L8


416-363-6021/1-800-668-8932, ext. 250

Bishop’s committees

From time to time, the diocesan bishop forms a committee to address and advise on an issue facing the Diocese. The current Bishop’s Committees are:

Bishop’s Committee on Healing Ministries: the Rev. Canon Joanne Davies, chair. For more information, see the Healing Ministries section.

Bishop’s Youth Ministry Committee: for more information, see the Youth section.

Bishop’s Working Group on Intercultural Ministries: Christina Yu and Andre Lyn, chairs. For more information, see the Diversity Resources page and download the group’s purpose and vision statements.

Bishop’s Committee on Creation Care: Sylvia Keesmaat and Grant Jahnke, chairs. For more information, see the Creation Care section.

Bishop’s officers

Diocesan Ecumenical Officer

the Rev. Canon Philip Hobson, OGS

Co-coordinators of Interfaith Ministry

the Rev. Roshni Jayawardena
the Rev. Jeff Nowers