The York-Scarborough Episcopal Area

York-Scarborough consists of 55 parishes and three ministries: St. Monica, Flemingdon Park Ministry, and All Saints, Sherbourne.  Flemingdon Park is a storefront ministry in the Flemingdon Park/Don Mills area. Part of this ministry is to help newcomers to Canada cope with the complexities of a new culture and language.  St. Monica is also a storefront ministry.  Along with All Saints, Sherbourne, it serves the most vulnerable of our city.  York-Scarborough is a multicultural area and has a number of parishes in languages other than English. Out of the Cold programs and foodbanks are organized by individual or combined parishes. Also residing within the boundaries of York-Scarborough are two missions: the Mission to Seafarers; and the New Hope Mandarin Ministry; as well as the Convent of the Sisterhood of Saint John the Divine.

List of Parishes by Deanery

Google Map of Parishes and Parish Boundaries

Bishop Patrick Yu is the area bishop for the York-Scarborough Episcopal Area. His purpose is to explore the landscape of God’s blessings and to take people and parishes to places where they can see it for themselves.

Bishop Patrick Yu, area bishop of York-Scarborough

Bishop Patrick Yu, Area Bishop of York-Scarborough

Bishop Yu graduated from Wycliffe College in Toronto in 1981 and served as an assistant curate at the Church of the Epiphany in Scarborough until 1983. He was the incumbent of the parish of Coldwater-Medonte until 1990, then incumbent of St. Theodore of Canterbury until 1997.

He received a Doctor of Ministry degree in 1997 from the Toronto School of Theology. His thesis, “Being Christian in a Multifaith Context,” was republished as a book in 2013.  He was the incumbent of St. Timothy, Agincourt from 1997 until he assumed his responsibilities as Area Bishop of York-Scarborough in 2006.

In addition to his Diocesan responsibilities, Bishop Yu also was the chair of “Anglican Witness”, the Evangelism and Church Growth Initiative (ECGI) of the Anglican Communion, until June 2015.  He also chaired the Ontario Provincial Commission on Theological Education (OPCOTE) from 2006 to 2012.

Bishop-elect Kevin Robertson

Bishop-elect Kevin Robertson will serve in York-Scarborough.

Bishop-elect Kevin Robertson has been appointed as the Area Bishop of York-Scarborough and will officially begin his duties on January 1, 2017. He will be consecrated on January 7 at St. Paul, Bloor Street alongside Bishops-elect Riscylla Shaw (Trent-Durham) and Jenny Andison (York-Credit Valley).

The Service of Installation for Bishop-elect Robertson will take place at St. John, York Mills on Sunday, January 22, 2017 at 7:00pm.

We are accepting donations towards the cost of our new Bishop-elects’ vestments. Donors can go to our donation page and  designate their gift to the Bishop-elect of their choosing.

Read more about the Bishops-elect and the gifts they bring to their respective areas and to the Diocese.

The Bishop’s office is located at:

Diocesan Centre
135 Adelaide St. E.
Toronto, ON M5C 1L8

Phone: 416-363-6021, ext. 253 (1-800-668-8932)
Fax: 416-363-3683

Bishop Patrick’s email address (until January 2017): patyu@toronto.anglican.ca

Bishop Patrick’s office hours:
Monday: work from home
Tuesday – Thursday: office and meetings in the area
Friday: day off
Saturday – Sunday: parish visits

Administrative assistant: Karen Isaacs
Email: kisaacs@toronto.anglican.ca

Karen’s office hours:
Monday – Friday: 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
(Note that the office is closed on Fridays in July and August.)