Diocesan Bishop

Bishop of Toronto

Bishop Andrew Asbil is our Diocesan Bishop. He is the chief pastor of the Diocese, with pastoral oversight of 202 parishes.

Bishop Asbil was elected Coadjutor Bishop on June 9, 2018, and was consecrated on Sept. 29, 2018. He automatically became the Diocesan Bishop on Jan. 1, 2019, and was installed on Jan. 13, 2019.

Born in 1961, Bishop Asbil was educated at the University of Waterloo and received his Master of Divinity degree from Huron College in 1988. He was ordained to the priesthood in 1989 and served a number of parishes in the Diocese of Niagara before coming to the Diocese of Toronto in 2001.

In Toronto, he served as Incumbent of Redeemer, Bloor St. and was appointed Canon of the Diocese of Toronto in 2009. He served as the Dean of Toronto and Rector of St. James Cathedral from January 2016 to September 2018.

Bishop’s Office

Mary Conliffe is the Diocesan Executive Assistant to the Bishop.
Jennifer Bolender King is the Bishop’s Office Assistant.

Diocesan Bishop’s Office:
135 Adelaide St. E., Toronto M5C 1L8
Tel. 416-363-6021/1-800-668-8932 ext. 250

Bishop’s Committees

From time to time, the Diocesan Bishop forms a committee to address and recommend on an issue facing the diocese. Below are the current Bishop’s Committees and their contact persons:

Bishop’s Committee on Healing Ministries (the Rev. Canon Joanne Davies). For more information, see Healing Ministries.

Bishop’s Working Group on Intercultural Ministries (Ms. Christina Yu and Mr. Andre Lyn). See the group’s Purpose and vision statements.

Bishop’s Youth Ministry Team (Ms. Jillian Ruch)

Doctrine & Worship Committee (the Rev. Canon Philip Hobson, OGS)

Bishop’s Committee on Creation Care (Dr. Sylvia Keesmaat and Dr. Grant Jahnke)

Bishop’s Officers

Diocesan Ecumenical Officer (The Rev. Canon Philip Hobson, OGS)

Diocesan Inter-Faith Officer (The Rev. Canon Gary van der Meer)