Skip To Content

Committees of Synod

Synod has created several standing committees that help carry out its work. See a list of current members.

Agenda Committee

The Agenda Committee consists of the Honorary Secretaries and at least three other members. Its purpose is to prepare an agenda for sessions of Synod and take them to Diocesan Council for approval. The committee is also responsible for organizing the logistical aspects of Synod meetings. For details, refer to the Constitution, section 18.

For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 647-578-9755.

Constitution and Canons Committee

The Constitution and Canons Committee is a committee of Synod. It consists of:

  • the Chancellor (who is the Chair)
  • the Vice Chancellors
  • the Registrar
  • two clerical and two lay members of Synod elected annually by Diocesan Council

The committee considers amendments or revisions to the Constitution and Canons referred to it by Synod or any committee of Synod, and reports how best to incorporate them in the Constitution and Canons. The committee also considers any needed revision in terminology or arrangement to the Constitution and Canons. For details, refer to Canon 37.

For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 647-578-9755.

Investment Committee

The Investment Committee consists of two clerical and two lay members of Synod, together with four members of the laity appointed by the bishop.

The committee may delegate some of its responsibilities with respect to the investment of the Fund to agents or advisors. In particular, the committee retains the services of a custodian and one or more investment managers.

The Investment Committee shall:

  • establish the Statement
  • select the manager and custodian
  • maintain an understanding of legal and regulatory requirements and constraints set out in this statement
  • on an annual basis, review the Statement and make appropriate amendments
  • provide regular reports to Synod
  • monitor the Fund and the investment performance of assets managed by each manager and the performance of the Fund as a whole
  • inform the manager of any significant cashflows

For more information, contact Robert Saffrey, Executive  Director, at 647-578-9764.

Nominations Committee

The Chancellor forms a Nominations Committee whenever there is an episcopal election. The committee consists of three clerical and three lay members of Synod, all appointed by the Chancellor. The committee’s purpose is to receive nominations for an episcopal election. For more information, see the Constitution, section 10.

For more information, contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, at 647-578-9755.