List of Members

The following is a list of members of Diocesan Council, its committees and committees of Synod:

Diocesan Council

The Rt. Rev. Jenny Andison, Area Bishop [York-Credit Valley]

Mr. Brian Armstrong, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Simcoe]

The Very Rev. Andrew Asbil, Dean of Toronto

Mr. Robert (Bob) Baird, Elected Area Representative [York-Simcoe]

Mr. Lawrence Barker, Elected Area Representative [Trent Durham]

Canon Paul Baston, Registrar & Vice Chancellor [York-Credit Valley]

The Rev. David Bryant, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Credit Valley]

Canon Clare Burns, Chancellor [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Gregory Carpenter, Elected Area Representative [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Joan Cavanaugh-Clark, Area Council Representative [Trent Durham]

The Rev. Dr. Stephen Drakeford, Elected  Area Representative [York-Credit Valley]

The Rt. Rev. Peter Fenty, Area Bishop [York Simcoe]

Ms. Anita Gittens, ODT, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Jean Glionna, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Simcoe]

Mr. Michael Gundy, Elected Area Representative [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Leslie Hajdu, ODT, Elected Area Representative [Trent-Durham]

The Rev. Karen Hatch, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Timothy Haughton, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Sherman Hesselgrave, Area Council Representative [York-Scarborough]

The Most Rev. Colin Johnson, (Chair) Bishop of Toronto

Ms. Carolyn Kearns, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Keith Joyce, Bishop’s Appointee [Trent-Durham]

Ms. Darlene Knowlton, Elected Area Representative [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Ian LaFleur, Honorary Clerical Secretary of Synod [York-Scarborough]

Ms. Suzanne Lawson, ODT, Bishop’s Appointee [Trent-Durham]

The Rev. Erin Martin, Elected Area Representative [York-Simcoe]

Mrs. Sarah McDonald, Honorary Lay Secretary of Synod [St. James Cathedral]

The Rev. Douglas Michael, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Simcoe]

The Rev. Lisa Newland, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Canon Dr. Barry Parker, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Jesse Parker, Elected Area Representative [Trent-Durham]

The Rev. Jason Prisley, Area Council Representative [York-Simcoe]

Mr. Ryan Ramsden, Elected Area Representative [York-Scarborough]

The Rt. Rev. Kevin Robertson, Area Bishop [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Mother Elizabeth Rolfe-Thomas, SSJD, Bishop’s Appointee [York Scarborough]

Ms. Susan Schuschu, Elected Area Representative [York-Simcoe]

The Rt. Rev. Riscylla Shaw, Area Bishop [Trent-Durham]

Ms. Beverley Sneyd, Elected Area Representative [York-Credit Valley]

Mr. Stephen Warner, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Marilyn Yeung, ODT, Bishop’s Appointee [York-Scarborough]

Executive Board of Diocesan Council

The Very Rev. Andrew Asbil, Appointee [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Bob Baird, Appointee [York-Simcoe]

Ms. Jean Glionna, Elected [York-Simcoe]

Mr. Michael Gundy, Elected [York-Credit Valley]

The Rev. Timothy Haughton, Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Most Rev. Colin Johnson, (Chair) Bishop of Toronto

Ms. Carolyn Kearns, Elected [York-Scarborough]

Ms. Suzanne Lawson, ODT, Elected [Trent-Durham]

The Rev. Erin Martin, Appointee [York-Simcoe]

Ms. Sarah McDonald, Appointee [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Douglas Michael, Elected [York-Simcoe]

The Rev. Canon Dr. Barry Parker, Elected [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Jesse Parker, Elected [Trent-Durham]

Mr. Stephen Warner, Appointee [York-Credit Valley]

Committees of Diocesan Council

Audit Committee

Mr. Don Gillespie, CA [York-Simcoe]

Mr. Robert Saffrey, CA [York-Scarborough]

Mr. R. Paul Singleton, FCA [York-Scarborough]

Ms. Anne Todd, CMA [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Susan Tremayne-Moon, CPA CA [Trent-Durham]

Nominating Committee

The Rev. Sheilagh Ashworth [York-Simcoe]

The Rev. Victor Li [York-Scarborough]

Ms. Susan Schuschu [York-Simcoe]

Ms. Wendy Thornton [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Kim Tucker [York-Credit Valley]

Trusts Committee

Canon Paul Baston, BA, LLB, Registrar & Vice Chancellor [York-Credit Valley]

Canon Clare E. Burns, BA, LLB, LLM, Chancellor (Chair) [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Karen Hatch [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Canon Anthony Jemmott, [Trent-Durham]

Mr. Wayne McLeod [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Peter Patterson [York-Credit Valley]

The Rev. Janet Read-Hockin, [York-Scarborough]

Ms. Gail Smith [York-Scarborough]

Committees of Executive Board

Accounts Receivable Subcommittee

Mr. John Fraser [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Leslie Hajdu [Trent-Durham]

Ms. Yvonne Murray [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Stephen Rodaway [York-Simcoe]

Project Review Committee

Three people from the following pool of professionals are called to serve on the ad-hoc Committee when required.

Mr. Paul Backewich [Architect]

Mr. Roberto Chiotti [Architect]

Mr. Rick Gosine [Builder]

Mr. Paul Hancock [Accounting/Finance]

Mr. Stuart Hutcheson, ODT [Accounting/Finance]

Mr. Ian Jones [Builder]

Mr. Phillip Jones [Architect]

Ms. Alice Liang [Architect]

Mr. Scott McIvor [Builder]

Mr. Terry Montgomery [Architect]

Mr. Robert Saunders [Heritage]

Mr. Mark Tomjenovic [Builder]

Mr. Peter Tovell [Architect]

Committees of Synod

Agenda Committee

Ms. Jean Glionna [York Simcoe]

Ms. Leslie Hajdu [Trent Durham]

The Rev. Ian LaFleur [Assistant Honorary Clerical Secretary]

The Rev. Canon Ted McCollum [Trent-Durham]

Ms. Sarah McDonald [Honorary Lay Secretary]

The Rev. Canon Claire Wade (Chair) [Honorary Clerical Secretary]

Constitution and Canons Committee

The Rev. John Anderson, BA (Hons), LLB, M.Div. [York-Simcoe]

Canon Paul Baston, LLB, Registrar & Vice Chancellor [York-Credit Valley]

Ms. Robyn Ryan Bell, BA, LLB, LLM, Vice Chancellor [York-Scarborough]

Canon Clare E. Burns, LLB, LLM, Chancellor (Chair), [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Andrew Dunning [York-Credit Valley]

Mr. John van Gent, LLB [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Susan Haig [York-Scarborough]

Investment Committee

The Rev. Nola-Susan Crewe [York-Scarborough]

The Rev. Canon Dr. Drew MacDonald [York-Scarborough]

Mr. David MacNicol (Chair) [York Scarborough]

Mr. Kennedy Marshall, ODT [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Stephen Rodaway [York Credit Valley]

Mr. Julian Scarfe [York-Scarborough]

Mr. Peter Stanley [York Scarborough]

The Synod is responsible for appointing various bodies.  They include:

York Rectory Commissioners and Committee on Etobicoke Glebe 

The following Commissioners were appointed by Synod for the distribution of the First York Rectory Fund and the Etobicoke Glebe for 2016 and 2017:

  • Canon Clare Burns, Chancellor
  • The Rev. Canon Stephen Fields
  • Ms. Joy Packham

Advisory Commission on Termination of Clerical Appointment

The following people were be elected by Synod to the Advisory Commission on Termination of Clerical Appointments for 2016 and 2017:

  • The Rev. Canon Beth Benson
  • Mr. Kennedy Marshall, ODT
  • Vacancy

Court on Contested Seats

Synod was informed that in accordance with Section 7 of The Constitution, the Bishop has appointed the following members of Synod to the Court on Contested Seats:

  • Canon Paul Baston
  • Canon Clare Burns, Chancellor
  • Mr. Bruce Goss
  • The Rev. Canon Heather McCance
  • Mr. Israel Newell, ODT
  • Ms. Anne Oram
  • The Rev. Canon Stephen Peake

For more information, please contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, 416-363-6021 ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).