News 2012

Mandarin Ministry

These are exciting times in York-Scarborough Area. The Rev. Esther Deng, based at St. Paul, L’Amoreaux is embarking on building a Mandarin speaking congregation from the ground up, literally. Demographics show that there is a wealth of Mandarin speaking people in that area of Scarborough. Esther is reaching out into the community and spreading the Good News in Mandarin. With the aid of an MAF grant Esther is living in the rectory of St. Michael the Archangel. She is also holding Bible Studies and gatherings at the rectory. Esther officiates at a Mandarin speaking service at St. Paul, L’Amoreaux during the same time as the English speaking service is being conducted. We are very encouraged by what Esther has been able to accomplish in a very short period of time.

This burgeoning ministry needs Holy Hardware and other items to assist in their services. They could use a Communion Set and everything that goes with it (linens, cruets etc.). If you have some items you are not using and would like to donate please contact: Carol Brunton. If you would like to give a monetary gift then make the cheque payable to: St. Paul, L’Amoreaux Please make sure the cheque is marked “Mandarin Ministry”. Send the cheque to St. Paul’s and they will issue you a tax receipt.

Keep tuned for more updates on how this ministry is evolving.

Grace Church in Scarborough

Formerly the congregations of St. Crispin, St. Giles, St. George and Epiphany.

Grace Church in Scarborough have done very well in bringing their 4 congregations into 1. This has not been without struggle. Ryan Ramsden reported at Area Council that the plans for their physical plant (at the site of the old Epiphany church) are coming together very nicely. They have chosen an Architect and the drawing so far meet and go beyond their expectations. This is also a time of excitement and expectation for this congregation.

Bursary 2012 and 2013

We would like to thank all those who applied for the 2012 York-Scarborough Area Council Bursaries. Here is the list of the 2012 recipients:

  • Dezora Walkom – St. Saviour
  • Mary Elizabeth Raybould – Holy Trinity, Trinity Square
  • Nick Fulton – Messiah
  • Raylesha Parker – St. Paul, L’Amoreaux
  • Samantha Delfosse – St. Paul, L’Amoreaux
  • Vanessa McIntosh – St. Paul, L’Amoreaux
  • Thandiwe Gregg – St. Luke, East York
  • Zi Jun Li – St. John, Toronto

Watch your e-mails for the 2013 letter and application form.