Skip To Content

Episcopal Areas

Due to its size, the Diocese is divided administratively into four episcopal areas. Each area is under the oversight of an area bishop, who is a suffragan bishop of the Diocese.

The Four Episcopal Areas

The area bishops help the Diocese function more effectively. The diocesan bishop grants to them certain episcopal duties and authorities that normally reside with the diocesan bishop.

The role of the area bishop also shifts the main working relationship of the clergy away from the diocesan bishop. In that respect, an area bishop’s role is different from suffragan bishops in most other dioceses.