Skip To Content



Bishop Riscylla Walsh Shaw, area bishop of Trent-Durham

Bishop Riscylla Shaw

Bishop Riscylla Shaw is the area bishop of Trent-Durham. Before becoming a bishop, Bishop Shaw was the incumbent (rector) of Christ Church, Bolton. Before that she was the incumbent of the Parish of Minden-Kinmount. She earned a Master of Divinity from Wycliffe College in 1999 and was ordained deacon in 2001 and priest the same year. Bishop Shaw is Metis and serves as an Ambassador of Reconciliation in the Diocese of Toronto.

Bishop's Office
Trent-Durham Area Office 965 Dundas Street West, Suite 207 Whitby, ON L1P 1G8
Phone: 905-668-1558 Office Hours: Monday – Thursday
8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Area Administrative Assistant

Bishop's Email
Commissary to the Bishop

the Rev. Canon Anthony Jemmott

Liturgical Consultant:
the Rev. Canon Gloria Master

TD Area Youth Coordinator:
Cormac Culkeen

Pastoral Care Providers to Retired Clergy, Widows & Spouses:
Contact via Area Office

Please call or email before you visit to arrange a specific appointment time or to confirm Bishop Shaw’s availability.

Trent-Durham Deaneries & Regional Deans

Oshawa the Rev. Canon Ruthanne Ward Phone 905-985-7278 Email
Durham & Northumberland the Rev. Jesse Parker Phone 905-885-2171 Email
Peterborough the Rev. Canon Gloria Master Phone 705-639-5214 Email
Victoria & Haliburton the Rev. Canon Ted McCollum Phone 705-426-5972 Email

Trent-Durham Area Council


The Trent-Durham Area Council supports the mission and ministry of the area bishop, the parishes and other community service agencies in this episcopal area. The council initiates and implements programs for Christian education and mission, including an annual Area Day of celebration, a clergy retreat and a lunch for retired clergy, their spouses and widows. It also responds to requests from parishes for counsel and financial support.

The Area Council meets four times each year: March, June, September and December. It meets in a different parish each time.


The Area Council consists of the following members:

  • area bishop
  • regional deans
  • clergy representatives
  • lay representatives (2 or 3 per deanery)
  • Youth Social Justice Coordinator

Lay members

  • Thom Park – Oshawa Deanery
  • Doug Willoughby – Oshawa Deanery
  • Bill Moore-Ede – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • Sharon O’Connor – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • Cormac Culkeen – TD Area Youth Coordinator

Regional deans

  • The Rev. Canon Anthony Jemmott –  TD Area Commissary
  • The Rev. Canon Ruthanne Ward – Oshawa Deanery
  • The Rev. Canon Ted McCollum – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery
  • The Rev. Jesse Parker – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • The Rev. Canon Gloria Master – Peterborough Deanery

Clergy members

  • The Rev. Barbara Russell – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • The Rev. Lucia Lloyd – Durham-Northumberland Deanery
  • The Rev. Frank Tyrell – Peterborough Deanery
  • The Rev. Brad Smith – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery
  • The Rev. Joan Cavanaugh-Clark – Victoria-Haliburton Deanery

Trent-Durham Grants

Trent-Durham Area Council designates a portion of its budget for grants for parish ministry in the areas of:

  • congregational development
  • Christian education
  • youth ministry
  • outreach

Grant requests are considered twice a year (September and December). These grants are normally under $10,000. Each application is reviewed by a member of the Area Council and presented with a recommendation to the council. All applications should include consultation with your regional dean.


Other funding opportunities

To give your funding application the best chance of success and to avoid wasted effort, you may want to consider whether your needs may be better served by applying to one of the other diocesan funding opportunities.

Visit the Grants and Funding section for guidelines, application forms, timelines and FAQs for grants available from the Diocese

Trent-Durham Resources

Prayer resources

Vacant incumbencies

For the most recent list of vacant incumbencies across the Diocese, see Clergy in Motion.

Clergy from outside the diocese, with the permission of their bishop, may apply through Canon Mary Conliffe, the Diocesan Executive Assistant. They will be asked to provide a letter from their bishop confirming that they have his or her permission to apply.

BY BISHOP’S DIRECT APPOINTMENT (Bishop receiving names):

None at this time.


Phase One – PSC Being Formed (not yet receiving names):
None at this time.

Phase Two – Parish Profile Published (Bishop receiving names):
None at this time.

Phase Three – PSC Interviewing Candidates (no longer receiving names):
None at this time.

Durham & Northumberland

Address: 48 Sanford Street, Brighton, ON K0K 1H0
Address: Churchill Road, Gore's Landing, ON K0K 2E0
Address: 6876 County Road 10, Port Hope, ON L1A 3V5
Address: 250 Mill Street South, Newcastle, ON L1B 1C5
Fax: 905-987-4691
Address: 23 Mill Street, P. O. Box 435, Orono, ON L0B 1M0
Fax: 905-987-9856
Address: 11 Temperance Street, Bowmanville, ON L1C 3A3
Fax: 905-623-2131


Address: 101 Winchester Road East, 4 blocks East of Highways 7 & 12, Brooklin, ON L1M 1B5
Fax: 905-655-5965
Address: 882 Kingston Rd., Pickering, ON L1V 1A8
Fax: 905-839-3152
Address: 1175 Cedar Street, Oshawa, ON L1J 3R8
Address: 59 Toronto Street South, Uxbridge, ON L9P 1N1
Fax: 905-852-5623
Address: 135 Wilson Road South, Oshawa, ON L1H 6B9
Fax: 905-725-9562
Address: 3505 Church Street, Blackstock, ON L0B 1B0
Address: C/o Whitecliffe Terrace Retirement Residence, 1460 Highway #2, Courtice, ON L1E 3C4


Address: 945 Frank Hill Rd., Emily Line 6 North of Fowler's Corner, Emily, ON
Address: , Stony Lake, ON
Fax: Cell: 239-249-9431
Address: 566 Armour Rd., Peterborough, ON K9H 1Z1
Fax: 705-742-1894
Address: 81 Queen St, Queen and Regent Streets, Lakefield, ON K0L 2H0
Fax: 705-652-8702
Address: 1 George St. East, Corner of George & Oak Streets, Havelock, ON K0L 2V0
Address: 120 Main St. , Apsley, ON K0L 1A0
Fax: 705-652-8702
Address: 11 West Bay Road, (across from the lock), Apsley, ON K0L 1A0
Fax: 705-652-8702
Address: 1758 County Rd. 10, Ida, ON L0A 1C0
Address: 62 King St. East, Omemee, ON K0L 2W0

Victoria & Haliburton

Address: 7 Bond St. East, Fenelon Falls, ON K0M 1N0
Address: 383 Osborne Street, Beaverton, ON L0K 1A0
Address: Durham Road 23, Sunderland, ON L0C 1H0
Address: Concesson 16, Highway 648, Wilberforce, ON K0M 1S0
Fax: 705-457-9618