Skip To Content

10 new canons named

The following were made Honorary Canons of St. James Cathedral by Archbishop Colin Johnson at Synod on June 16:

  • The Rev. Canon Judith Herron-Graham, incumbent of Trinity, Port Credit, for her extensive and creative contributions to revitalizing small parish ministries, and for her work at all levels of the Diocese.
  • The Rev. Canon Don Aitchison, chaplain of Trinity College School, Port Hope, and the Rev. Canon Stephen Crowther, chaplain of Holy Trinity School, Richmond Hill, for their long, faithful and creative work with young people in school chaplaincy and on the early frontier of fresh expressions of church.
  • The Rev. Canon Murray Henderson, incumbent of Christ Church St. James, Toronto, for his long and faithful service to the church in this Diocese and across Canada, and for his contributions to diocesan ministry in spiritual renewal, re-configuration and growth of the local church, and diocesan governance.
  • The Rev. Canon Drew MacDonald, incumbent of St. John, York Mills, for his creative and expanding ministry combining the traditional and contemporary, and for his work in this and other dioceses on diocesan councils, and for leadership in the Our Faith-Our Hope campaign.
  • The Rev. Canon Richard Miller, associate priest of St. Peter, Erindale, for faithful work in parish ministry as the incumbent of St. Luke, Dixie South, Mississauga, and now as associate priest of St. Peter’s, and for his long work as regional dean, and in diocesan Human Resources, clergy wellness and on Diocesan Council.
  • The Rev. Canon Elizabeth Morley for her outstanding ministry in challenging interim ministries.
  • The Rev. Canon Merv Mercer, interim priest-in-charge of Trinity East, Toronto (Little Trinity), for his service in pastoral development of seminarians, the Postulency Committee and interim ministries.
  • The Rev. Canon Millie Hope, incumbent of St. Martin, Bay Ridges, Pickering, for her faithful and fruitful parish ministry, and her excellent work as regional dean and in the councils of the church.
  • Canon Paul Baston, registrar of the Diocese, for his exemplary work in lay ministry in the parishes he has attended, and his consummate competence as registrar of the Diocese, as a major contributor to Diocesan Council, Trusts Committee, FaithWorks, as legal advisor and in a multitude of other capacities.

The Honorary Canons will be installed during a service of Choral Evensong at St. James Cathedral on Sept. 16 at 4:30 p.m.