The most common way of involving the laity in the governance of the Church has been through our Synod meetings. A Synod is a gathering of lay and clerical members who constitute the governing body of the Church.

Synod is made up of all the licensed clergy in the diocese and lay members (non-clergy). At its Annual Vestry meeting, each parish (or congregation, in the case of a multi-point parish) elects Lay Members to attend the Diocesan Synod, which meets every other year.

At Synod, members determine, at a high level, the priorities for Diocesan Council and its Boards and Committees, and refocus the mission of the Church throughout the Diocese. Synod gatherings are a time of worship, inspiration and education, as well as a forum for affirming the direction of our ministry together.

In order to carry on the work of Synod between its sessions, the Diocesan Council meets on a regular basis. The membership of this Council is determined by Canon 2. Boards, committees and task forces have been established, from time to time, to assist the Diocesan Council with its work. You can find further information regarding our Synod in The Constitution.

For more information, please contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, (416) 363-6021 ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).