Governance and Synod

The Diocesan Bishop is the head and chief executive officer of the Incorporated Synod of the Diocese of Toronto.

The governing membership body is known as a Synod. It is made up of all the licensed clergy in the diocese and lay members (non-clergy) who are elected by their parishes and attend the meetings of Synod. The Bishop chairs all sessions of Synod.

When Synod is not in session, Diocesan Council acts on behalf of Synod, and the Bishop is the chair of Diocesan Council. Diocesan Council is responsible to Synod for development and oversight of priorities to implement the mission and vision set by Synod, as well as budget development, recommendation, oversight and mid-term adjustment if required.

Once a plan has been approved by Synod, Diocesan Council acts at a strategic level to assign priorities to Executive Board and other committees to implement the plan. The Executive Board is charged in various ways with supporting the work of the Diocese as assigned to it by Diocesan Council.

Area Councils are engaged in supporting the parishes in their area, working with the area bishop to allocate ministry development grants and to provide a variety of programs for clergy and lay people.

The Diocesan Centre is adjacent to the cathedral and houses 35 full- and part-time administrative, program and support staff whose work provides support to the Bishop, the College of Bishops and Diocesan Council, for the leadership of the Diocese.

For more information, please contact Pamela Boisvert, Secretary of Synod, 416-363-6021 ext. 231 (1-800-668-8932).